Skip to main content

Curtin Critical Disability Studies Network Launch and Public Lecture

Posted on


Event details

Curtin University cordially invites you to the launch of the Curtin Critical Disability Studies Network, an exciting new joint initiative of the Centre for Human Rights Education (CHRE) and the School of Media, Culture and Creative Arts.

Monday 29 February 2016
6.00PM - 8.00PM
Building 500:1102AB, Resource and Chemistry Precinct, Curtin University, Bentley Campus

The Network has particular strengths in critical and literary disability studies, disability and human rights, and the emerging areas of disability media studies and disability and popular culture.

The university is home to key academic researchers in these fields including Dr Katie Ellis and Dr Mike Kent in the Department of Internet Studies, Professor Baden Offord at CHRE, and Dr Rachel Robertson in the Department of Communications and Cultural Studies.

The Chair of the Attitude Foundation and former Australian Disability Discrimination Commissioner, Graeme Innes AM, LLB, FAICD will deliver the keynote address at the launch. Graeme has worked tirelessly to improve the lives of Australians with disabilities through his human rights advocacy and taking positive steps to change media representations.

Continuing the Centre for Human Rights Education’s yearlong focus in 2016 on Re-Imagining Australia, Graeme will discuss what a truly inclusive Australia could be like in relation to people with disability.

Click here to register for this event.

About the speaker

Graeme Innes AM is an Australian company director, lawyer and public speaker. He has been a human rights practitioner for 30 years in New South Wales and Western Australia and has participated in the development of national and international human rights instruments.

Graeme was Australia’s Disability Discrimination Commissioner from December 2005 until July 2014. During that time he also served as Australia’s Human Rights Commissioner for three-and-a-half years and as Race Discrimination Commissioner for two years.