Skip to main content

Women in STEM: The leadership needed to change the current situation

Posted on

The Third Annual Maureen Bickley Memorial Lecture is hosted by Emeritus Professor Margaret Nowak, Chair of the Maureen Bickley Centre for Women in Leadership Advisory Group, Curtin Graduate School of Business and is sponsored by the Department of Local Government and Communities.

Event details

This lecture celebrates the life and contribution to equity and women in leadership made by Dr Maureen Bickley.

Wednesday 11 November 2015
5.00pm - 7.30pm
Department of Local Government and Communities. Gordon Stephenson House, 140 William St, Perth (Enter from Murray Street Mall, near Cotton On)
Free, donations welcome
Curtin Graduate School of Business

About Maureen:

Dr Maureen Bickley was an Associate Professor at the CGSB. She was an inspirational teacher, a valued mentor, a resourceful researcher and, from 2000 until her untimely death in 2007, a fun loving colleague.

About the Maureen Bickley Centre for Women in Leadership:

The Maureen Bickley Centre for Women in Leadership (MBC) was established within the CGSB in March 2008 to honour Maureen’s many achievements including significant contributions to the advancement and promotion of gender equity and women in leadership.

About the Speaker:

Lyn Beazley AO is currently Western Australia’s Australian of the Year. Lyn graduated from Oxford and Edinburgh Universities and built an internationally renowned research team in Neuroscience that focused on recovery from brain damage. Much of her investigations were undertaken at The University of Western Australia.

Lyn was Chief Scientist of Western Australia from 2006 to 2013, advising the Western Australian Government on science, innovation and technology as well as acting as an Ambassador for science locally, nationally and internationally.

In 2009 Lyn was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia and elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering later that year. In 2011, she was inducted into the inaugural Western Australian Women’s Hall of Fame, followed by being elected a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators and a Companion of Engineers Australia. In 2012 Lyn became the second recipient of the Governor’s Award for Giving, in recognition of her enthusiastic philanthropy.

There is no charge to attend this event, however we would welcome donations to the Maureen Bickley Scholarship fund (donations over $2 are tax deductible). Donations can be made at our Online giving webpage. The Maureen Bickley Scholarship provides support for women undertaking doctoral research that promotes gender equality.

Registrations now closed.