Skip to main content

Annual awards recognise Curtin teaching excellence

Media release

Curtin University has been recognised for its excellence in teaching in the 2010 Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The annual awards reward the nation’s top university teachers and most outstanding programs and services aimed at improving the quality of student learning. 

Of the 31 awards presented nationally, Curtin won four – more than any other university in Western Australia.

Associate Professor Jaya Earnest, from Curtin’s Centre for International Health, received a Teaching Excellence Award: Priority Area 2010 for her contribution in the field of internationalisation. She has spent more than 24 years working in countries such as India, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and East Timor.

Centre for Aboriginal Studies Coordinator John Mallard, School of Nursing and Midwifery’s lecturers Rosalie Thackrah and Dr Julie Hoffman were named the winners in the Teaching Excellence Award: Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education award.

School of Marketing Professor Ian Phau was named the winner in the Law, Economics, Business and Related Studies category.

The Go Global program from Curtin’s Faculty of Health Sciences was awarded the Program Award Category for Innovation in Curricula, Learning and Teaching. The Go Global team is made up of more than 20 Curtin staff members.

Curtin Vice-Chancellor Professor Jeanette Hacket congratulated the winners and said it was a deserving recognition for their excellence in teaching.

“Curtin is committed to innovation and excellence in teaching and research, for the benefit of our students and the wider community,” Professor Hacket said.

“The fact Curtin was recognised in four awards highlights that commitment and acknowledges not just the well deserved award recipients but the enormous contribution of all Curtin staff members.”

Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations Senator Chris Evans will present the awards at a ceremony in Canberra at Parliament House on 16 November.

Denise Cahill, Public Relations, Curtin University
Tel: 08 9266 1931, Mobile: 0401 103 683, Email:

Related tags