Skip to main content

City of Cockburn awarded for commitment to public health

Media release

The City of Cockburn has been recognised for its exceptional efforts to provide greater sun protection and more smoke free environments for community members, winning the main award at the 2020 Local Government Policy Awards.

(L-R) PHAIWA Director Associate Professor Christina Pollard, City of Cockburn Health Promotion Officer Gloria Askander, Grants and Research Support Officer Bronwen Miller, Children’s Development Officer Joan de Castro and Mayor Logan Howlett with Healthway Director of Health Promotion Julia Knapton and the Hon David Templeman, the Minister for Local Government; Heritage; Culture and the Arts. (Credit: Samuel Hesketh Photography)

The tenth annual awards, hosted by the Public Health Advocacy Institute of Western Australia (PHAIWA) based at Curtin University, recognised local governments who implemented strategies and policies that helped to promote and improve public health in the community, particularly for children.

Named overall winner, the City of Cockburn entered 10 categories and excelled in four as it received a commendation in Aboriginal Child Health and Environments Promoting Physical Activity, and won the Shade in Public Places and Smoke Free Environments categories.

The Shire of Laverton was named the 2020 Regional Award Winner, entering seven categories including Healthy Food, which it won.

PHAIWA Director Associate Professor Christina Pollard said Local Governments were uniquely placed to drive environmental changes that supported children’s health.

“At the heart of all initiatives are the children and young people themselves, and Local Governments should involve them in decision-making, thereby giving children a voice, and ensuring their needs are met,” Associate Professor Pollard said.

“These awards have increased awareness of the types of action Local Governments can take to improve child health.

“The number of award submissions has increased each year, with initiatives that are creative and have the power to inspire others to build healthier futures for our children.”

Healthway Director of Health Promotion Julia Knapton said it was wonderful to see Local Governments championing healthy communities throughout Western Australia.

“Congratulations to all the award winners for their innovative approaches to creating sustainable, connected, and healthy clubs, parks, and venues to support better health and wellbeing in the community,” Ms Knapton said.

The awards are scored through a report card process, which assesses policy, evaluates program quality, promotes program improvement, and informs and advocates for programs in settings such as schools, urban planning and health services.

The awards were presented by the Hon David Templeman, the Minister for Local Government; Heritage; Culture and the Arts.

The 2020 Local Government Policy Awards are supported by the Hon David Templeman, the Minister for Local Government; Heritage; Culture and the Arts, Healthway, WALGA, Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries, Commissioner for Children and Young People, Mr Colin Pettit, and Cancer Council WA.

Further information on the awards can be found online here.