Skip to main content

Collective statement from the Vice-Chancellors of Western Australia’s five universities

Media release

One year ago, we joined forces on an issue of great importance by declaring there is zero tolerance to sexual assault and harassment on our campuses.

Over the past 12 months, we have put in place additional services and new procedures to make our campuses safer for students, staff and the community.

Much has been done but our work continues. We remain individually and collectively committed to addressing the issues highlighted in the Australian Human Rights Commission’s national survey.


Professor Deborah Terry, Vice-Chancellor, Curtin University
Professor Steve Chapman, Vice-Chancellor, Edith Cowan University
Professor Eeva Leinonen, Vice-Chancellor, Murdoch University
Professor Celia Hammond, The University of Notre Dame Australia
Professor Dawn Freshwater, Vice-Chancellor, The University of Western Australia