Skip to main content

Curtin awards six new Emeritus Professors

Media release

Curtin University has awarded six academics the title of Emeritus Professor in recognition of their extensive contribution to the University at their retirement.

Aerial map of the Perth campus

Professor Paul Fairall, the Foundation Dean of Curtin Law School, Professor Jeffrey Kenworthy, from the Curtin University Sustainability Policy Institute (CUSP), Professor Hamid Nikraz, from Curtin’s School of Civil and Mechanical Engineering, Professor Ram Ramaseshan, from Curtin’s School of Marketing, Professor Dennis Rumley, from Curtin’s School of Media, Creative Arts and Social Inquiry, and Professor Marian Tye, from Curtin’s Centre for Sport and Recreation Research, have been awarded the title.

Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry thanked the newest recipients of the Emeritus Professor title for their contribution to learning, teaching and research over many years.

“These new recipients join an esteemed group of Curtin academics who have been awarded the title of Emeritus Professor in recognition of their distinguished service and sustained commitment to the University,” Professor Terry said.

“I am delighted to acknowledge the significant contribution these staff members have made across various fields including legal education, transport sustainability, engineering, marketing, Indian Ocean studies, and sport and recreation, and wish them all the very best on their retirement.”

The latest recipients to be awarded the title of Emeritus Professor include:

Professor Paul Fairall laid the foundation for the Curtin Law School during his appointment as Foundation Dean from 2012 to 2019, making a significant contribution to legal education in Western Australia.

Professor Jeffrey Kenworthy has been a leading researcher in transport issues in cities through the collection of global data since joining CUSP in 2007.

Professor Hamid Nikraz assembled the infrastructure at Curtin to undertake key research in geotechnical, transportation and pavement engineering, enhancing his area’s internationally recognised research profile in the design, optimisation and usage of industrial by-products in construction.

Professor Ram Ramaseshan has made significant theoretical and methodological contributions to his field of marketing, having held the position of Foundation Professor of Marketing at Curtin for more than 22 years and the Head of the School of Marketing for 16 years.

Professor Dennis Rumley joined Curtin in 2012 before being appointed Professor of Indian Ocean Studies in 2014 and publishing more than a dozen books and 130 scholarly papers.

Professor Marian Tye was appointed the Founding Director of the Centre for Sport and Recreation, an independent advocacy and research centre to generate applied research informing public policy and practice in the field of sport and recreation with a particular focus on Western Australia, in 2009.

The title of Emeritus Professor is awarded to a Professor who has demonstrated distinguished service to research, learning and teaching, and is within six months of retirement from the University.