Skip to main content

Curtin researcher awarded the prestigious Christopher Heyde Medal

Media release

A Curtin University researcher who has been instrumental in developing mathematical techniques to solve business problems has been awarded a prestigious Christopher Heyde Medal by the Australian Academy of Science.

Curtin University Professor Ryan Loxton is a recipient of this year's Christopher Heyde Medal

Professor Ryan Loxton, an ARC Future Fellow from Curtin’s School of Electrical Engineering, Computing and Mathematical Sciences, was recognised for his distinguished research in applied mathematics.

Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry congratulated Professor Loxton on his prestigious achievement.

“Professor Loxton’s research uses mathematical techniques to solve real-world problems by optimising processes in the oil and gas, agriculture, and mining industries and making them more efficient, cost-effective and less environmentally damaging,” Professor Terry said.

“Since completing his PhD in 2010, Professor Loxton has built a distinguished career at Curtin, working on a number of collaborative projects with industry partners and winning multiple awards, including the Business Prize at the 2018 Curtinnovation Awards, for a software tool that uses mathematical modelling and optimisation algorithms to help farmers streamline their operations.

“Professor Loxton is an inspiring leader in the mathematics field and I would like to formally congratulate him on being recognised for his continued success.”

Professor Loxton said he was honoured to be recognised alongside his peers by the Academy.

“Trying to find mathematical patterns and solutions that may improve business operations and processes for industry is a challenging, but rewarding task. To be recognised by the Australian Academy of Science alongside other inspiring leaders and role models is a true honour,” Professor Loxton said.

“I have been fortunate to work on many different projects in a variety of industries and sectors throughout my career. I look forward to furthering my work and helping to streamline processes and operations in new and emerging industries.”

The Christopher Heyde Medal honours the contributions to mathematics by the late Professor Christopher Charles Heyde AM, DSc(Syd), FAA, FASSA. Professor Heyde was the Foundation Dean of the School of Mathematical Sciences at the Australian National University, and Professor Emeritus of Statistics at Columbia University, New York.

This year there were two winners of the Christopher Heyde Medal: Professor Loxton and Dr Jennifer Flegg from the University of Melbourne.

Further information on the award can be found online here.