Skip to main content

Curtin University Professor named Western Australian of the Year

Media release

Curtin University has congratulated Professor Mike Daube on being named the 2018 Western Australian of the Year.

Professor Mike Daube standing in front of Public Health Advocacy Institute

Professor Daube, a leading public health advocate, was also recognised with the Community Award, which is presented in celebration of excellence in commitment to, and contribution towards, improving the quality of lives in the Western Australian community, at a state, national or international level.

The Western Australian of the Year Awards celebrate exceptional Western Australians who have made an extraordinary impact in the community and demonstrated excellence in their field.

Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry congratulated Professor Daube on being recognised and said he was a worthy recipient of the accolade.

“Professor Daube is a leading expert in national and international action, research and public commentary on public health issues and I congratulate him on this well-deserved recognition,” Professor Terry said.

“The Western Australian of the Year Awards are the highest acknowledgement of outstanding achievement and commitment to the State’s community, and I can think of no more deserving recipient than Professor Daube given his commitment to public health throughout his career.”

Professor Terry was also a finalist in this year’s awards, in the Professions category, in recognition of her commitment to tertiary education, research and university leadership over a long and distinguished career.

Three Curtin alumni were also finalists: Ms Shelley Cable; Ms Alicia Curtis and Mr Peter Bradford.

The awards ceremony was the first official event of the WA Day long weekend – a multi-day celebration of everything that is unique and extraordinary about Western Australia, promoting inclusiveness for all people that choose to make WA their home.

More information about the Western Australian of the Year Awards 2018 can be viewed here.