Skip to main content

Curtin’s health sciences scoops top national teaching award

Media release

Curtin University’s Faculty of Health Sciences is the recipient of a highly competitive national teaching award at the 2012 Australian Awards for University Teaching.

Ms Margo Brewer, Director of Interprofessional Practice in the Faculty, received the 2012 Award for Programs that Enhance Learning on behalf of the Faculty.

Interprofessional education is a key initiative in the Faculty of Health Sciences, driven by recognition that collaboration across different professions has the capability to deliver optimal care for a wide range of health and social issues.

The prestigious accolade recognises the extensive successful collaborative partnerships that have been developed with industry in relation to the Faculty’s pioneering interprofessional practice placement program.

The award, worth $25,000, also acknowledges the program’s outstanding contribution to the quality of the student experience.

Ms Brewer said that the award recognises the enormous amount of hard work undertaken by everyone in Health Sciences and medical imaging staff in designing, developing and delivering an interprofessional fieldwork program for the benefit of students, the healthcare industry and clients.

“It was such an honour to represent the University and the Faculty at the awards this year,” Ms Brewer said.

“We are all so proud that our interprofessional fieldwork program, introduced as a number of small pilot projects in 2009, has been recognised nationally as leading the way in quality teaching and learning in the higher education sector.

“On behalf of the Faculty, I would like to thank our students, industry partners, clients and their carers for making our interprofessional fieldwork placement program such a success.

“It’s a privilege to work in the supportive environment that exists at the University and in the Faculty, which has ensured the successful implementation of an innovative educational programs for the benefit of our students and the wider community.”

Minister for Tertiary Education Senator Chris Evans presented the awards at a ceremony in Canberra held at the National Gallery of Australia on Monday 19 November 2012.

Visit for more information about interprofessional education.