Skip to main content

First Rickman to get a degree awarded best student

Media release

The first person in her family to get a university degree, Amanda Rickman, has been awarded the WW Mitchell 2010 Student of the Year Award at the Public Relations Institute of Australia (PRIA) WA awards.

The Curtin University graduate, of Mandurah, wowed the judges with her communication strategy for an environmental group.

Amanda is currently completing a Graduate Certificate in International Relations at Curtin and will soon make her way to Canberra to start a two-year graduate program with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

“Getting a position at the Department of Foreign Affairs has been a goal of mine for some time. I have worked really hard to secure this position and am really pleased my hard work has paid off,” Amanda said.

 “The move to Canberra is a big step for me, but one I’m looking forward to. One day I hope to become a diplomat where I can use my communication skills to represent Australia.”

Amanda has a list of accolades to her name including best graduating student for the public relations course at Curtin in 2009. She was also a finalist in the WA Youth Awards in the leadership category.

The Head of School of Marketing, Professor Ram Ramaseshan said it was a well-deserved win for Amanda who had worked tirelessly throughout her degree and contributed significantly to the local community.

“During her time at Curtin she was selected to be an Australian delegate to Global Village, a six–week leadership program in the US,” Professor Ramaseshan said.

“She was also part of the cbsplus leadership program at Curtin as well as the John Curtin Leadership Academy.”

Amanda is now looking forward to relaxing in Bali, her first overseas holiday.

“I have never been overseas for a holiday; it has always been for work or study so I’m really looking forward to some time off before my big move to Canberra,” she said.

This year the judging panel found it difficult to choose one winner. Instead they chose joint winners: Suzi Petkucevska and Amanda Rickman from Curtin University.

Related tags