Skip to main content

Five academics recognised for enriching student learning

Media release

Five Curtin University academics have received prestigious Citation Awards from the Australian Government for their outstanding work towards enriching student learning.

The Minister for Tertiary Education, Senator Chris Evans, announced last week that 152 university academics and professional staff from 38 universities across Australia have been recognised for developing innovative learning programs, including new teaching models.

Professor Jill Downie, DVC Education, said this was a significant achievement for the five Curtin staff members, demonstrating the excellence of teaching staff at the university.

“These teachers have gone far above their position descriptions with their outstanding work and commitment to teaching and I am pleased they are being recognised for their contributions,” she said.

“Whether it is building capacity, transforming traditional methods or implementing inspirational strategies, our staff members are committed to making tomorrow better for our students.” 

Dr Lynne Roberts, School of Psychology and Speech Pathology, was recognised for transforming the teaching of research methods in the undergraduate psychology program to inspire and motivate student learning.

Associate Professor Sue Jones, Health Sciences, Teaching and Learning, was recognised for her leadership and sustained contribution to improved student learning through building staff capacity.

Dr Leslie Almberg, Department of Applied Geology, received the award for conceiving, developing and implementing engaging, inspirational and innovative strategies for first year geoscience students that foster independent learning.

Associate Professor Carmela Briguglio of the Curtin Business School Communication Skill Centre was recognised for her sustained commitment and excellence in the enhancement of student learning and staff development in the areas of academic literacy and internationalisation.

Professor David Treagust of the Science & Maths Education Centre received the award for three decades of exemplary supervision of postgraduate research students and teaching for conceptual change in the field of science education.

For more information on the awards, visit

Megan Meates, Public Relations, Curtin University
Tel: 08 9266 4241, Mobile: 0401 103 755, Email:

Related tags