Skip to main content

New Health Sciences Adjunct Professors announced

Media release

Curtin University will today recognise 11 leaders in the Western Australian healthcare community for their outstanding dedication and leadership by conferring on them the title, Adjunct Associate Professor or Adjunct Professor.

 The new Adjuncts will contribute their expertise to key Health Sciences projects including partnerships with industry, curriculum development, clinical placements and Curtin’s Medical School proposal.

 The Adjunct appointments will be awarded by the Faculty of Health Sciences to industry experts who fulfil a number of criteria including a significant record of public service, an established professional reputation, and an ability to contribute to the development of the Faculty.

 Professor Jill Downie, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Health Sciences said the honour recognised each person’s contribution to the quality of healthcare available to Western Australians.

“I would like to congratulate our new Adjunct Professors for their significant achievements to date, which makes them all very worthy recipients of this honour,” Professor Downie said.

“It is an exciting time of change at Curtin with many significant projects in progress, and we look forward to the new Adjuncts, who are talented leaders in their respective fields, contributing to the success of the Faculty.”

The healthcare leaders who will receive the title of Adjunct Professor are:

  • Dr Simon Towler, Chief Medical Officer
  • Philip Aylward, Chief Executive of the Child and Adolescent Health Service
  • Nicole Feely, Chief Executive, South Metropolitan Health Service
  • Christopher McGowan, Chief Executive Officer, Silver Chain Nursing Association
  • Dr David (Russ) Russell-Weisz, Chief Executive, North Metropolitan Area Health Service
  • Dr Richard Saker, Director of Medical Services, Joondalup Health Campus, Ramsay Healthcare
  • Ian Smith, Chief Executive Officer, WA Country Health Service

Four Adjunct Associate Professors will also be named:

  • Karen Bradley, Area Director Nursing and Midwifery, South Metropolitan Health Service
  • Christopher Carter, Chief Executive Officer, Perth Primary Care Network
  • Dr Paul Mark, Area Director Clinical Services, South Metropolitan Area Health Service
  • Dr Marcus Tan, Director, West Australian General Practice Network

The appointment of the title ‘Adjunct’ signifies the commencement of a closer relationship between a University and an expert working in the field. The title is awarded for three years, or until the Adjunct resigns from the appointment.

 The Faculty currently has 200 active Adjunct appointments in place, with experts across all fields of healthcare who assist Curtin in areas of research, teaching, curriculum development and partnerships with industry.

 The new Adjuncts will be honoured at a ceremony at Curtin University this evening, featuring an address by Dr Simon Towler, Western Australia’s Chief Medical Officer, and one of the new adjunct appointments.


Kristy Jones, Public Relations, Curtin University

Tel: 08 9266 9085, Mobile: 0402 517 300, Email: