Skip to main content

2021 Sports Awards winners announced

News story

After an unprecedented 2020, this year saw a few changes to sport and recreation programs at Curtin, with things beginning to head back on track.

Curtin University Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic Professor Jill Downie; Vice Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne and Sports Star of the Year Kaitlin Nobbs

It has been an incredible year for sport, especially within the University, as the Tokyo Games finally commenced, and our Curtin teams performed valiantly in the Western Series.  We are so proud of all students involved in Inter-Varsity events, as well as the ones who travelled to Japan and represented the country.

Unfortunately, due to COVID-19, UniNationals were cancelled this year.  However, there is much anticipation for next year with the competition being held here in Perth!

On Wednesday 27 October 2021, the annual Curtin Sports Awards were held at the Curtin campus on St George’s Terrace.  These awards recognise the University’s elite athletes who continuously achieve excellence both on and off the pitch.  Australian Olympic hockey players, Kaitlin Nobbs and Aran Kalewski, were recognised with the highest accolades – both being named Sport Stars of the Year in their respective categories.

These athletes were more than deserving of this honour.  Zalewski co-captained the Kookaburra’s and won silver at the Tokyo Olympics, and gold in the 2014 Commonwealth Games and World Cup.  Nobbs debuted for the Hockeyroos in 2016, and since then has gone on to win silver at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games, and represented Australia in the Tokyo Games this year.

As always, we are extremely appreciative of the commitment of all staff, volunteers, and members at Curtin Stadium.  The pandemic has continued to pose challenges throughout the year, but with hard-work and determination all efforts have paid off.

Congratulations to all nominees and award recipients at this year’s Curtin University Sport and Recreation awards ceremony.


A full list of awards are as follows:


Sports Club Excellence Award

Curtin University Wesley Football Club


Sports Club Development Award

Curtin University Football-Futsal Club


John Curtin Award

Curtin University Cheer & Dance Club


Volunteer of the Year Award

Martin Edmunds (Australian Rules Football)

Amy Woodfield (Hockey)


Curtin Colours

Adam Piggott (Hockey)

Connor McNab (Volleyball)

Jacob Nenke (Hockey)

Jessica Russell (Cheer & Dance)

Katie Flanagan (Hockey)

Lee Fisher (Cheer & Dance)

Marleigh Zada (Indigenous Sport)

Rhys Brnich (Hockey)

Tony Ziegelaar (Hockey)


UniSport Athlete of the Year

Connor McNabb (Hockey)


Sports Star of the Year (Male Competition)

Aran Zalewski (Hockey)


Sports Star of the Year (Female Competition)

Kaitlin Nobbs (Hockey)


Patron of Sport Award

Jill Downie


Inter Faculty Shield

Faculty of Science & Engineering


Vice-Chancellor’s Elite Athlete Alumni Inductee 2021

Matthew Swann (Hockey)