Skip to main content

Changes to funding for Permanent Residents and New Zealand Citizens

News story

*subject to passage of legislation 

From 1 January 2018, Government subsidies for Australian Permanent Residents and New Zealand citizens enrolling in a Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP) will be withdrawn. These students will instead be enrolled in a fee-paying place and will be able to access FEE-HELP loans to defer their tuition fees. Fee-paying places do not receive any government funding and students will be required to pay the full cost of their course. 

Please refer to the Study Assist and Department of Education and Training websites for further information. 

Note: Eligible New Zealand Special Category Visa (SCV) holders who meet the requisite criteria will be able to access the Higher Education Loan Program (HELP) loans. Please refer to the Fees website for eligibility requirements. 

Article republished from